Samoa Private Sector United Under One Banner

The Samoa Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCI) held its Annual General Meeting on Tuesday  2nd August 2022 at the Taumeasina Island Resort, following its delay earlier in the year due to COVID 19. A significant milestone was achieved at the AGM, with the unification of Samoa’s leading Private  Sector Organizations (PSOs) under the umbrella of the Samoa Chamber of Commerce, Samoa’s  National Private Sector Organization, for the first time in 10 years.  

With the Samoa Association of Manufacturers and Exporters (SAME) rejoining SCCI, the private sector  of Samoa is again united as one family. SAME President, Taulapapa Maria Leota, stated on the  significance of SAME rejoining the National Private Sector Organization, “SAME is now a proud  member of the SCCI. We recognize that joining together as a united private sector will strengthen and  promote our businesses. Alone we can do so little, together we can do so much”. The SCCI President  shared these sentiments, stating “… this is a significant historical milestone. A truly united private  sector that is aligned on how we can work collectively on the challenges and opportunities for the  private sector, in particular to advocate on issues impacting the growth of our private sector as the  engine of growth for our local economy”. The unification is crucial, as now the private sector can  continue to work with our Government with one voice to address policy issues for the benefit and  development of our business community and our economy.  

The following officer nominees were elected and confirmed by the Office of the Electoral Commission,  to serve on the Samoa Chamber of Commerce Executive Council 2022/23: 

President: Seulupe Michelle Macdonald 
Vice President: Faasootauloa Sam Saili 
Treasurer: Tom Hogarth 
Secretary: Nadia Meredith-Hunt 

General Members:
Fuimaono Hugo Betham 
Tofilau Fiti Leung Wai 
Enele Westerlund 

PSO Representatives:  
SHHA: Tupai Saleimoa Va’ai 
BOSA: Tony Atilua 
WIBDI: Funefeai Oliva Vaai 
SAME: Taulapapa Maria Leota  

Immediate Past Presidents:
Jennifer Ula-Fruean 
Masoe Norman Wetzell  
Tuala Leaega Pat Leota 

The Samoa Chamber of Commerce and Industry AGM 2022, was sponsored by Taumeasina Island  Resort and Taula Beverages Samoa.